About       Books

Saturday, January 4, 2014

Palm Springs International Film Festival Returns

Cars crowd the parking lots, and restaurants that were half-empty a month ago are teeming. The press of people goes beyond the annual influx of Canadians and other snowbirds. Why are people flocking to Palm Springs? Yes, it's time again for the Palm Springs International Film Festival.

The Awards Gala
Kudos to festival board Chairman, Harold Matzner and his committee. Tonight's Awards Gala sold out all 2000 seats before they announced any honorees. Mary Hart returns as the Gala host. Everyone from Meryl Streep to Bono will attend. Here's the full list of honorees:

Ensemble Performance Award: The cast of American Hustle. 
Amy Adams, Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, & Jeremy Renner

Spotlight Award: Julia Roberts, August: Osage County

Desert Palm Achievement Awards: 
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club, and Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Director of the Year Award: Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave

Breakthrough Performance Award:  Lupita Nyong'o for 12 Years a Slave

Career Achievement Award: Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing: Thomas Newman, Saving Mr. Banks. (He also composed the music for Skyfall, WALL-E, The Shawshank Redemption, & American Beauty)

Sonny Bono Visionary Award: U2, Mandela

Icon Award:Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Chairman's Award: Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips, Saving Mr. Banks

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.