Saturday, May 21, 2016

52 Fun Things To Do In 52 Weeks, #5





My Family Fun, Teen Fun, Friends Fun list continues…

May’s Flower Full Moon will light tonight’s sky. The Old Farmer’s Almanac will stream the moonrise through the Slooh’s Canary Islands Observatory at 5:00 PM PDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 7:00 PM CDT, and 8:00 PM EDT. Watch Here

The flower moon made me think of flowers, and flowers made me think of butterflies. So…



Fun Thing #5: Go On A Butterfly Photo Safari



Cactus, bougainvillea, verbena, and many other plants are blooming in the desert right now. Every day I see bright yellow Sulphur Butterflies flitting about my front patio. But a photo safari takes you beyond your front door. Are you ready for an adventure?

3 Things You Will Need For Your Photo Safari

1  .    A digital camera/smartphone.
I snapped (can I say “snapped” when I used my iPhone camera?) the butterfly photos on this page at the Living Desert Zoo and Gardens in Palm Desert, California. Their Butterflies! Winged Wonders! exhibit closed May 1, but will return in the fall.

2  .    Lots of patience.
Expect to take a lot of photos. Butterflies are not great at Sit. Stay. Some brilliant colors are only revealed when the butterfly’s wings are open. Others, when their wings are closed. Some butterflies are so artfully camouflaged you will have to look hard to find them.

3  .    A Butterfly Field Guide
Great adventures often start with a great book, right? Check your library, online bookstore, or (bless them!) neighborhood bookstore for a Field Guide. For North America, check out Kaufman Field Guide to Butterflies of North America.



Butterfly totems represent transformation. So gently go forth and bring Butterfly into your life.

52 Fun Things To Do In 52 Weeks – The List So Far:

   1.     Visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter.
   2.     Experience a Bamboo Forest.
   3.     Enjoy Warthog Piglets.
   4.     Search For Stone People And Animals 
   5.     Go On a Butterfly Photo Safari
           


Copyright 2016 Ariella Moon

No comments:

Post a Comment